Network Staff

The network comprises a National Administrative & Resource Center based at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), a central Data Coordinating Center based at Westat, and six regional nodes.


National Administrative & Resource Center

The Administrative & Resource Center (ARC) comprises national network administration and specific components: (1) Practitioner Recruitment & Engagement Component (PREC); (2) Practitioner Training Component (PTC); (3) Practitioner & Patient Compensation System (PPCS); and (4) the Communications & Dissemination (C&D) Component. The ARC is administratively based at UAB, with the PREC and PTC elements based at the University of Florida.

Gregg H. Gilbert, DDS, MBA, FAAHD, FICD
National Network Director
Email: ghg@uab.edu

Sonia K. Makhija, DDS, MPH
National Director of Communications & Dissemination
Email: smakhija@uab.edu

Valeria V. Gordan, DDS, MS, MS-CI
National Director for PREC and PTC
Email: vgordan@dental.ufl.edu

*Andrea H. Mathews, BS, RDH
National Program Manager, also responsible for the PPCS
Email: ahmathews@uab.edu

Terri Jones
National Program Coordinator
Email: yjones@uab.edu

Western Region

Administratively based at the Center for Health Research, Portland, OR. This region comprises Alaska, American Samoa, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

Jeffrey L. Fellows, PhD
Regional Node Director
Email: jeffrey.fellows@kpchr.org

Daniel J. Pihlstrom, DDS
Regional Node Deputy Director
Email: dan.j.pihlstrom@kp.org

*Lisa Waiwaiole, MS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: lisa.ann.waiwaiole@kpchr.org
Phone: (503) 335-2454

Natalia Tommasi, MA, LPC
Research Associate
Email: natalia.p.tommasi@kpchr.org

Midwest Region

Administratively based at the HealthPartners Research Foundation in Minneapolis, MN. This region comprises Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Brad Rindal, DDS
Regional Node Director
Email: donald.b.rindal@healthpartners.com

Don Nixdorf, DDS, MS
Regional Node Deputy Director
Email: nixdorf@umn.edu

*Emily Durand, RDH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: emily.c.durand@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-7404

Sarah Basile, RDH, MPH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: sarah.m.basile@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5277

Kimberly Johnson, RDH, MDH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: kimberly.s.johnson@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5276

Chris Enstad, BS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: chris.j.enstad@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5007

Tracy Shea, RDH BSDH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: tracy.l.shea@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-7032

Lauryn Davin, BS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: lauryn.m.davin@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5039

Southwest Region

Administratively based at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in San Antonio, TX. This region comprises Arizona, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

David Cochran DDS PhD
Regional Node Director
Email: cochran@uthscsa.edu

Rahma Mungia BDS MSC DDPHRCS
Regional Node Deputy Director
Email: mungia@uthscsa.edu

*Stephanie Reyes BA
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: reyess@uthscsa.edu
Phone: (210) 562-5654

 

South Central Region

Administratively based at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in Birmingham, AL. This region comprises Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

Gregg H. Gilbert, DDS, MBA, FAAHD, FICD
Regional Node Director
Email: ghg@uab.edu

Sonia K. Makhija, DDS, MPH
Regional Node Deputy Director 
Email: smakhija@uab.edu

*Andrea H. Mathews, BS, RDH
Regional Node Program Manager
Email: ahmathews@uab.edu
Phone: (205) 934-2578

Ellen Sowell, BA
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: esowell@uab.edu
Phone: (205) 996-5412

Shermetria Massingale, MPH, CHES
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: sdm85@uab.edu
Phone: (205) 975-3113

Terri Jones
Regional Node Program Coordinator 
Email: yjones@uab.edu

Ellen Funkhouser, DrPH
Biostatistician
Email: emfunk@uab.edu

Mark Litaker, PhD
Biostatistician
Email: mlitaker@uab.edu

South Atlantic Region

Administratively based at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL. This region comprises Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia.

Valeria V. Gordan, DDS, MS, MS-CI
Regional Node Director
Email: vgordan@dental.ufl.edu

Joseph Riley III, PhD
Regional Node Deputy Director
Email: jriley@dental.ufl.edu

*Deborah McEdward, RDH, BS CCRP
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: dmcedward@dental.ufl.edu
Phone: (352) 273-5848

James "Danny" Johnson
Assistant Research Coordinator
Email: jjohnson@dental.ufl.edu
Phone: (352) 273-5857

Brenda E. Thacker, RDH
Grant Manager/Study Coordinator
Email: bthacker@dental.ufl.edu

Northeast Region

Administratively based at the University of Rochester in Rochester, NY. This region comprises Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, US Virgin Islands, and Vermont.

Cyril Meyerowitz, DDS, MS
Regional Node Director
Email: cyril_meyerowitz@urmc.rochester.edu

Dorota Kopycka-Kedzierawski, DDS MPH
Regional Node Deputy Director
Email: dorota_kopyckakedzierawski@urmc.rochester.edu

*Kathy Bohn
Administrator
Email: kathy_bohn@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 273-5272

Rita Cacciato
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: rita_cacciato@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 275-9001

Pat Ragusa
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: pat_ragusa@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 275-5780

Christine O'Brien, RDH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: christine_o'brien@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 275-4960

Vi Luong, BS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: vi_luong@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 273-3107

Data Coordinating Center

The Data Coordinating Center for the national network is administratively based at Westat in Rockville, MD.

Bob Harris, PhD
Data Coordinating Center Director
Email: bobharris@westat.com

*Rachel Cohen, MPH
Project Manager
Email: RachelCohen@westat.com
Phone: (301) 251-2271

* Main contact