Network Staff

The network comprises a national administrative & resource center based at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), a network data coordinating center based at Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research, six regional nodes, and a specialty node.


National Administrative & Resource Center

The Administrative & Resource Center (ARC) comprises national network administration and specific activities: (1) Practitioner Recruitment & Engagement Component (PREC); (2) Practitioner Training Component (PTC); (3) Practitioner & Patient Compensation System (PPCS); and (4) the Communications & Dissemination (C&D) Component. The ARC is administratively based at UAB, with the PREC and PTC elements based at the University of Florida.

Gregg H. Gilbert, DDS, MBA, FAAHD, FICD
National Network Director
Email: ghg@uab.edu

Sonia K. Makhija, DDS, MPH, FICD 
National Director of Communications & Dissemination
Email: smakhija@uab.edu

Valeria V. Gordan, DDS, MS, MS-CI
National Director for PREC/PTC
Email: vgordan@dental.ufl.edu

*Andrea H. Mathews, BS, RDH
National Program Manager, also responsible for the PPCS
Email: ahmathews@uab.edu

Terri Jones
National Program Coordinator
Email: yjones@uab.edu

Western Region

Administratively based at the Center for Health Research, Portland, OR. This region comprises Alaska, American Samoa, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

Jeffrey L. Fellows, PhD
Regional Node Director
Email: jeffrey.fellows@kpchr.org

Daniel J. Pihlstrom, DDS
Assistant Regional Node Director
Email: dan.j.pihlstrom@kp.org

*Lisa Waiwaiole, MS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: lisa.ann.waiwaiole@kpchr.org
Phone: (503) 335-2454

Natalia Tommasi, MA, LPC
Research Associate
Email: natalia.p.tommasi@kpchr.org

Midwest Region

Administratively based at the HealthPartners Research Foundation in Minneapolis, MN. This region comprises Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Brad Rindal, DDS
Regional Node Director
Email: donald.b.rindal@healthpartners.com

Sarah Basile, RDH, MPH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: sarah.m.basile@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5277

Kimberly Johnson, RDH, MDH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: kimberly.s.johnson@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5276

Chris Enstad, BS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: chris.j.enstad@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5007

*Tracy Shea, RDH BSDH
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: tracy.l.shea@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-7032

Lauryn Davin, BS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: lauryn.m.davin@healthpartners.com
Phone: (952) 967-5039

Southwest Region

Administratively based at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio in San Antonio, TX. This region comprises Arizona, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

David Cochran DDS PhD
Regional Node Director
Email: cochran@uthscsa.edu

*Rahma Mungia BDS MSC DDPHRCS
Assistant Regional Node Director
Email: mungia@uthscsa.edu

 

South Central Region

Administratively based at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in Birmingham, AL. This region comprises Alabama, Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

Gregg H. Gilbert, DDS, MBA, FAAHD, FICD
Regional Node Director
Email: ghg@uab.edu

Sonia K. Makhija, DDS, MPH, FICD 
Assistant Regional Node Director 
Email: smakhija@uab.edu

*Andrea H. Mathews, BS, RDH
Regional Node Program Manager
Email: ahmathews@uab.edu
Phone: (205) 934-2578

Ellen Sowell, BA
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: esowell@uab.edu
Phone: (205) 996-5412

Shermetria Massingale, MPH, CHES
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: sdm85@uab.edu
Phone: (205) 975-3113

Terri Jones
Regional Node Program Coordinator 
Email: yjones@uab.edu

South Atlantic Region

Administratively based at the University of Florida in Gainesville, FL. This region comprises Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia.

Valeria V. Gordan, DDS, MS, MS-CI
Regional Node Director
Email: vgordan@dental.ufl.edu

*Deborah McEdward, RDH, BS CCRP
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: dmcedward@dental.ufl.edu
Phone: (352) 273-5848

James "Danny" Johnson
Assistant Research Coordinator
Email: jjohnson@dental.ufl.edu
Phone: (352) 273-5857

Brenda E. Thacker, RDH, CCRP 
Grant Manager, Regional Node Coordinator
Email: bthacker@dental.ufl.edu

Northeast Region

Administratively based at the University of Rochester in Rochester, NY. This region comprises Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, US Virgin Islands, and Vermont.

Cyril Meyerowitz, DDS, MS
Regional Node Director
Email: cyril_meyerowitz@urmc.rochester.edu

Dorota Kopycka-Kedzierawski, DDS MPH
Assistant Regional Node Director
Email: dorota_kopyckakedzierawski@urmc.rochester.edu

*Kathy Bohn
Administrator
Email: kathy_bohn@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 273-5272

Rita Cacciato
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: rita_cacciato@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 275-9001

Pat Ragusa
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: pat_ragusa@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 275-5780

Vi Luong, BS
Regional Node Coordinator
Email: vi_luong@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: (585) 273-3107

Specialty Node

The Specialty Node is administratively based at the University of Illinios at Chicago. 

Veerasathpurush (Sath) Allareddy, BDS, MBA, MHA, PhD, MMSc
National Director of Specialty Node
Email: sath@uic.edu

National Coordinating Center

The National Coordinating Center for the national network is administratively based at Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research.

Mary Ann McBurnie, PhD
NCC Director
Email: MaryAnn.McBurnie@kpchr.org

*Reesa Law, BS
NCC Manager
Email: Reesa.Laws@kpchr.org

* Main contact